Music

If I had to pick only one genre of music that I could listen to for the rest of my life it would be classic rock. That is something that comes off a bit random for someone of my age group since it is usually seen as if we are always more drawn to music from the more popular genres of pop, screamo, or dubstep. Ever since I was about 12 years old I started to get questioned on my choice of music from the 70’s and 80’s over that that plays on almost every radio station today. I can count on one hand how many stations from Atlanta actually broadcast classic rock, and the only major one I can think of is 97.1 The River, and then on almost every other station there is rap, pop, or country music blaring at me. It seems like it would be more likely that I would enjoy something that is played more often than that stuff that appears to be harder to find, but that isn’t the case for me.

Whenever I hear songs like “Jack & Diane” by John Cougar Mellencamp or “Murder By Numbers” by The Police I like to just breathe deeply and think about how much music has changed between the time in which these songs were released and the music of now. The idea of writing about what a person knew was very much a product of the music that I lean towards listening to. Today’s music can’t hold much of a competition with things like “New York Minute” by Don Henley where he talks about how every person’s life could be over, or change drastically from one moment to another. I understand that back in the times of music like that there were also a lot of songs that were completely horrible, and very much like what is played  on the radio right now, but at least everyone who could sing well on a cassette could sing well live too. Music was made to be preformed back in the 70’s and 80’s because it wasn’t as easy to access copies of a song as it is today. The also didn’t have that infernal auto-tune bullshit that I abhor ever being invented. Musicians, like writers, are expected to be able to make use of their craft at any given moment, and having a crutch like auto-tune is a horrible thing to have.

Leave a Reply

